Uruguay, officially the Eastern Republic of Uruguay or the Republic East of the Uruguay (River), is a nation located in the southeastern part of South America. It is bordered by Brazil to the north, the Uruguay River to the west, the estuary of the Río de la Plata (literally 'River of the Silver', but commonly known in English as 'River Plate') to the southwest, with Argentina on the other bank of both, and finally the South Atlantic Ocean to the southeast. About half of its people live in the capital and largest city, Montevideo. The nation is the second smallest independent country in South America, larger only than Suriname (it is also larger than French Guiana, which is not independent), and is the most politically and economically stable. Uruguay is ranked as the second least corrupt country in Latin America after Chile.