Haiti, officially the Republic of Haiti, occupies one third of the Caribbean island of Hispaniola and also includes many smaller islands, such as La Gonâve, La Tortue (Tortuga), Les Cayemites, Île à Vache, La Grande Caye and Navasse. Haiti shares Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic. The total area of Haiti is 27,750 km² and its capital is Port-au-Prince.

A former French colony, it became the second independent country in the Americas (after the United States) when it declared its independence in 1804. It was also the first independent black republic in the world. Despite its longevity compared to other countries in the region, it is the most impoverished nation in the Western Hemisphere.

Support Disaster Relief in Haiti

  • Red Cross/Red Crescent
  • Donate to unicef
  • MSF